KDHE adds states to travel quarantine list, removes others

The Kansas Department of Health and Environment has added two states to the coronavirus quarantine list: South Carolina and Florida, and they removed Maryland from the list. This is in effect for persons arriving in or returning to Kansas June 29, and moving forward. 

A comprehensive list of those individuals needing to quarantine for 14 days includes visitors and Kansans who have traveled to:

South Carolina and Florida on or after June 29.
Alabama, Arizona and Arkansas on or after June 17.
Been on a cruise ship or river cruise on or after March 15.
International travel on or after March 15.

KDHE also requests a 14 day quarantine for individuals who received notification from public health officials (state or local) that they are a close contact of an individual with laboratory-confirmed case of COVID-19.

Travel quarantines do not prohibit travel through Kansas. People from these locations may still travel through Kansas. If this is done, KDHE recommends limited stops, wearing a mask at rest stops, or when getting gas and being six feet from others when doing so. If the destination is Kansas, they would be required to quarantine upon arrival to their destination. 

Critical infrastructure sector employees who have traveled to these destinations should contact their employers regarding instructions for the application of these quarantine orders. Critical infrastructure employees, such as public health, law enforcement, food supply, etc., need to have the staffing resources to continue serving Kansans.

For more information on COVID-19, please visit the KDHE website at www.kdhe.ks.gov/coronavirus. The state will review/update this list every two weeks.